Item added to your cart.

The Moonwalkers (Original Soundtrack)
Display Artist
Anne Nikitin
Silva Screen Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 21, 2024

The Original Orchestral Score composed by Anne Nikitin for THE MOONWALKERS: A JOURNEY WITH TOM HANKS at Lightroom. The composer’s rousing soundscape to this epic experience which offers a unique perspective on humankind’s past and future voyages to the moon, was performed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra at the iconic Abbey Road Studios. The show opened at London’s Lightroom on 6th December 2023 and will continue until 13th October 2024. From Lightrooms’ remarkable space, almost identical in size to NASA’s Apollo Mission Control, audiences are transported to the lunar surface by spectacular NASA footage and photography remastered by Andy Saunders. The show, co-written by Hanks and double BAFTA-Nominated Christopher Riley and directed by 59 Productions Lysander Ashton and Nick Corrigan. The score also features The London Bulgarian Choir with soloist Dessislava Stefanova (choir leader) and soloist Grace Davidson (soprano) along with Peter Gregson (electric cello), Richard Harwood (cello) and Tom Pigott-Smith (violin). On the genesis of this album, the composer says – “I’ve been fascinated by space for as long as I can remember - as a child I’d stare at the night sky in awe and wonder and could proudly name the planets and their moons in order from the sun. So being asked to compose the music for The Moonwalkers was a dream come true. I wanted to represent the moon in its various guises: sometimes ethereal and magnificent, at other times dark and mysterious. I also paid homage to popular music of the era, from the blues to prog rock. But mostly I wanted to enhance a show that celebrates human achievement and peace and hope for all mankind. The result was an epic and eclectic score featuring the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and the London Bulgarian Choir recorded at Abbey Road Studios. In addition, I got to work with some of my favourite musicians on harmonica, Hammond organ, guitars, drums and electric cello. The score also features the angelic voice of Grace Davidson and the other-worldly vocals of Dessislava Stefanova, each of them portraying the various incarnations of the moon.” Anne Nikitin is an Emmy and two-time Ivor Novello nominated composer known for her versatility in creating bold and inventive sound worlds spanning a range of genres across film and television. She was named Classic FM’s “Composer to Watch” and Film 4’s “composer who should be on your radar”. Recent TV scores include the Netflix hit series ONE DAY based on David Nicholls' acclaimed novel; the Apple TV+ thriller HIJACK starring Idris Elba; and the Emmy- winning series THE DROPOUT (Hulu/Disney+) starring Amanda Seyfried. Recent movies include I.S.S., a high-octane space thriller starring Ariana deBose; MOTHER'S INSTINCT, a psychological drama starring Jessica Chastain and Anne Hathaway; LITTLE WING for Paramount+ starring Brian Cox and Brooklynn Prince; and the Netflix movie SCOOP starring Gillian Anderson, Billie Piper and Rufus Sewell.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Lift Off 1:05 Buy

    Lift Off

  2. 2 Our Companion 2:29 Buy

    Our Companion

  3. 3 We Choose To Go To The Moon 7:42 Buy

    We Choose To Go To The Moon

  4. 4 Overview Effect 3:21 Buy

    Overview Effect

  5. 5 Lunar Orbit 2:06 Buy

    Lunar Orbit

  6. 6 Mission Control 4:19 Buy

    Mission Control

  7. 7 One Small Step 3:56 Buy

    One Small Step

  8. 8 Sistine Chapel 1:55 Buy

    Sistine Chapel

  9. 9 The Inky Void 6:46 Buy

    The Inky Void

  10. 10 Lunar Rover 5:09 Buy

    Lunar Rover

  11. 11 Earthrise 3:37 Buy


  12. 12 Moon Rock 4:29 Buy

    Moon Rock

  13. 13 Return To Earth 5:04 Buy

    Return To Earth

  14. 14 For All Mankind 1:25 Buy

    For All Mankind

Track List

  1. Lift Off
  2. Our Companion
  3. We Choose To Go To The Moon
  4. Overview Effect
  5. Lunar Orbit
  6. Mission Control
  7. One Small Step
  8. Sistine Chapel
  9. The Inky Void
  10. Lunar Rover
  11. Earthrise
  12. Moon Rock
  13. Return To Earth
  14. For All Mankind
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences