Item added to your cart.

The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials Series 3
Display Artist
Lorne Balfe
Silva Screen Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 2, 2022

‘The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials: Series Three’, with music composed by Lorne Balfe. This third ‘Musical Anthology’ volume presents newly composed principal themes from series three.

The music for the entire His Dark Materials Trilogy is composed by Lorne Balfe. In this introduction to the Music from the Television Series, Balfe delves into the series and character themes from the final instalment of Philip Pullman’s acclaimed trilogy. Lorne describes his score as “Elgar meets Nine Inch Nails” and recounts that “The main thing that we wanted to do was to always have a clear journey of each character’s theme… I wrote their themes separately as a journey, so that we knew musically what would happen throughout the series… I love that slight steampunk feeling of the books where you don’t necessarily know the period or time that you’re in. There’s a mixture of technologies and it’s in the realm of fantasy very [much] like Harry Potter. I think that, to me, is what drew me into that world and the fact there are several worlds- you’ve got the present and the past”.

The show’s third and final season is based on Philip Pullman’s The Amber Spyglass, the third book in the author’s His Dark Materials trilogy. The series will be released globally on 5th December 2022, and will air 2 episodes weekly, with the 2-episode season 3 finale airing on 26th December 2022. In the UK the series will be showing on BBC One and will be available to stream on BBC iPlayer.

Lorne Balfe (Mission Impossible: Fallout, The Lego Batman Movie, Churchill) is a Grammy Award winning, EMMY and BAFTA nominated composer. Whether on an impossible mission, the heartbreak of the Queen, the perils of the cape crusade or the soul of a genius, Lorne Balfe creates a musical voice that reflects the characters and the stories that embody them. Originally from Inverness, Scotland, Balfe has created music in virtually all genres and for all visual media with projects ranging from major studio to independent films, tentpole video game franchises, beloved animated feature films, critically acclaimed television series, and documentary features.

His Dark Materials Series Three is produced by Bad Wolf in association with New Line Cinema for BBC One and HBO.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 A New World 2:57 Buy

    A New World

  2. 2 Emissaries 2:31 Buy


  3. 3 Asriel's Republic 3:56 Buy

    Asriel's Republic

  4. 4 The Land of the Dead 2:27 Buy

    The Land of the Dead

  5. 5 Father Gomez 4:01 Buy

    Father Gomez

  6. 6 The Boatman 2:13 Buy

    The Boatman

  7. 7 Opposing The Authority 3:39 Buy

    Opposing The Authority

  8. 8 General Ogunwe 2:58 Buy

    General Ogunwe

  9. 9 Lord Roke 4:40 Buy

    Lord Roke

  10. 10 The Gallivespians 2:32 Buy

    The Gallivespians

  11. 11 Metatron 2:56 Buy


  12. 12 The Banished Angel 2:41 Buy

    The Banished Angel

  13. 13 The Threads That Bind 2:10 Buy

    The Threads That Bind

  14. 14 Love Across Worlds 3:43 Buy

    Love Across Worlds

Lorne Balfe

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences