Item added to your cart.

The Thief, His Wife and The Canoe (Original Television Soundtrack)
Harry Escott & Ben Pearson
Silva Screen Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 19, 2022

“Tied in with a jaunty soundtrack and ITV has really pulled off a winner. Just like the original true story, fictional Anne and John Darwin will stay with you long after the episodes end, as you ponder all the unanswered questions the nation still has. It’s quirky, off-beat, hard-hitting and truly memorable.” – Radio Times

The ITV mini-series soundtrack to The Thief, His Wife and The Canoe. Scripted by Chris Lang (Unforgotten, Innocent) and produced by award winning producers Story Films.

Featuring Bafta-winner Monica Dolan and Eddie Marsan, known for his work with director Mike Leigh, the series is based on the extraordinary and compelling true story of how John Darwin faked his own death. Together with his wife Anne Darwin, John perpetrated one of the most elaborate, devastating and surreal frauds of all time. Faking his death in a canoe accident off the coast of Seaton Carew, North East England, he lived for five years undetected in a bedsit connecting to his wife’s bedroom. The couple reaped the rewards of John’s life insurance and plotted a new life together in Panama, whilst their two adult sons believed John to be dead.

Written by Harry Escott and Ben Pearson, the beautifully colourful score is a perfect match for this darkly comic and tragic fable. The music doesn’t shy away from the fantasy, the absurdity and the painful reality of this coercive marriage and the unforgivable betrayal. And yet, somewhere there is hope of a new beginning for Anne as she tries to rebuild her relationship with her sons.

Harry Escott is known for scoring Steve McQueen’s Shame and Michael Winterbottom’s A Mighty Heart, Road to Guantanamo and Greed. Harry recently won a BAFTA for his music to the BBC drama Roadkill, and he has just completed the score to Uprising – a 3 film series directed by Steve McQueen which is set to air on BBC One later this year. Away from the screen, Harry’s work includes collaborations with P J Harvey (An Acre Of Land), the poet Lavinia Greenlaw, (sound installation Audio Obscura) and the Ora Singers, (O Light Of Light).

Ben Pearson works extensively in film and TV, and frequently with Harry Escott. He contributed arrangements and additional music for The Wedding Guest, Deep State Season 2 and Greed. His most recent projects working alongside Harry Escott have been The English Game, and also, he acted as Music Editor on the Bafta-winning Roadkill.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Prelude 1:22 Buy


  2. 2 As Strong as an Ox 0:56 Buy

    As Strong as an Ox

  3. 3 A Spot of Canoeing 3:03 Buy

    A Spot of Canoeing

  4. 4 Holding On 2:37 Buy

    Holding On

  5. 5 As Strong as a Mouse 2:23 Buy

    As Strong as a Mouse

  6. 6 I Suspected It Was a Lie 3:31 Buy

    I Suspected It Was a Lie

  7. 7 Waiting For Something To Change 1:40 Buy

    Waiting For Something To Change

  8. 8 Separate Rooms Again 1:53 Buy

    Separate Rooms Again

  9. 9 White Collar Crime 2:27 Buy

    White Collar Crime

  10. 10 All Falling Apart 0:41 Buy

    All Falling Apart

  11. 11 So Many Dreadful Things 2:37 Buy

    So Many Dreadful Things

  12. 12 Out Of This World 2:03 Buy

    Out Of This World

  13. 13 Coming Home 3:26 Buy

    Coming Home

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences