Item added to your cart.

The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials (Music From The Television Series)
Display Artist
Lorne Balfe
Silva Screen Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 3, 2019

In this introduction to the Music from the Television Series, Composer Lorne Balfe delves into the series and character themes from His Dark Materials, the new adaptation of Philip Pullman’s acclaimed trilogy. Performed by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the concept album has attracted a stellar cast of additional contributing recording artists. The series will have its global premiere on Sunday 3rd November on BBC One and on Monday 4th November on HBO Worldwide.

For this concept driven release, Lorne Balfe has assembled a superb, diverse, and devoted cast of performing artists to present the exquisitely crafted new musical themes. Already fans of the book and wanting to contribute to the Series, the album connects singer K T Tunstall, drummer Chad Smith (Red Hot Chilli Peppers), cellist Tina Guo (Hans Zimmer Live and The World of Hans Zimmer), post modern composer-cellist Peter Gregson, steam punk influenced violinist and dancer Lindsey Stirling, classical horn player Sarah Willis, BAFTA award winning composer, multi instrumentalist Richard Harvey and Vanya Moneva’s Ethnic Bulgarian Choir.

Musical Anthology

Presented on this concept album are the opening title theme together with key character themes for the young protagonists Lyra and Roger and the adults Mrs. Coulter, Lord Asriel and Lee Scoresby. Other themes present the majestic locations of Oxford and Svalbard, the people that Lyra encounters on her epic journey (the Gyptians, the Witches of Lake Enara, the machinations of The Magisterium) and The Alethiometer, the device that helps set all the events in motion. The leading cast for His Dark Materials includes Dafne Keen as Lyra, Ruth Wilson as Mrs Coulter, Lin-Manuel Miranda as Lee Scoresby, James McAvoy as Lord Asriel, Clarke Peters as The Master of Jordan College, James Cosmo as Farder Coram and Anne-Marie Duff as Ma Costa, with Will Keen as Father McPhail and Ariyon Bakare as Lord Boreal.

About The Composer

Lorne Balfe (Mission Impossible: Fallout, The Lego Batman Movie, Churchill) is a Grammy Award winning, EMMY and BAFTA nominated composer. Whether on an impossible mission, the heartbreak of the Queen, the perils of the cape crusade or the soul of a genius, Lorne Balfe creates a musical voice that reflects the characters and the stories that embody them. Originally from Inverness, Scotland, Balfe has created music in virtually all genres and for all visual media with projects ranging from major studio to independent films, tentpole video game franchises, beloved animated feature films, critically acclaimed television series, and documentary features.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 His Dark Materials 1:38 Buy

    His Dark Materials

  2. 2 The Alethiometer 4:35 Buy

    The Alethiometer

  3. 3 Lyra: The Child of Prophecy 2:20 Buy

    Lyra: The Child of Prophecy

  4. 4 The Settling of a Daemon 3:54 Buy

    The Settling of a Daemon

  5. 5 Scholastic Sanctuary 3:06 Buy

    Scholastic Sanctuary

  6. 6 The General Oblation Board 2:58 Buy

    The General Oblation Board

  7. 7 The Life of Roger Parslow 2:42 Buy

    The Life of Roger Parslow

  8. 8 The Machinations of Lord Boreal 2:50 Buy

    The Machinations of Lord Boreal

  9. 9 A Gilded Cage 1:24 Buy

    A Gilded Cage

  10. 10 The Strength of Gyptians 3:38 Buy

    The Strength of Gyptians

Show All Tracks 19

Lorne Balfe

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences