Item added to your cart.

His Dark Materials (Original Television Soundtrack)
Display Artist
Lorne Balfe
Silva Screen Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 20, 2019

Award-winning composer Lorne Balfe’s dramatic soundtrack to the BBC’s adaptation of Philip Pullman’s fantasy trilogy.

“It’s an epic work that perfectly foreshadows Lyra’s journey, and could easily belong in Assassin’s Creed or Tomb Raider… There’s been a lot of love for Balfe’s music for His Dark Materials.” – Classic FM

“This is fantasy the way it should be done: sumptuous, inspiring both wonder and a sense of adventure, beautifully scored (by Lorne Balfe), with world building that is as impeccable as it is effortless.” – First Post

The main themes from His Dark Materials have already been introduced to the listeners through The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials, released on Silva Screen Records in November 2019. For this concept album the principal themes were reworked, moulded and explored as each character’s theme is on a separate musical journey throughout the series. The themes are never fixed, there are no rules and they are constantly evolving. His Dark Materials original score provides a musical narrative drive across all 8 episodes. The album presents the music, including main character themes, as they appear through the series.

The score is performed by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales conducted by Matt Dunkley. The leading cast for His Dark Materials includes Dafne Keen as Lyra, Ruth Wilson as Mrs Coulter, Lin Manuel Miranda as Lee Scoresby, James McAvoy as Lord Asriel, Clarke Peters as The Master of Jordan College, James Cosmo as Farder Coram and Anne-Marie Duff as Ma Costa, with Will Keen as Father McPhail and Ariyon Bakare as Lord Boreal.

Lorne Balfe (Mission Impossible: Fallout, The Lego Batman Movie, Churchill) is a Grammy Award winning, EMMY and BAFTA nominated composer. Whether on an impossible mission, the heartbreak of the Queen, the perils of the cape crusade or the soul of a genius, Lorne Balfe creates a musical voice that reflects the characters and the stories that embody them. Originally from Inverness, Scotland, Balfe has created music in virtually all genres and for all visual media with projects ranging from major studio to independent films, tentpole video game franchises, beloved animated feature films, critically acclaimed television series, and documentary features.

Digital Tracklist

Disc 1

  1. 1 Iorek's Armor 2:00 Buy

    Iorek's Armor

  2. 2 The Great Flood 4:09 Buy

    The Great Flood

  3. 3 Lyra's Jordan 1:49 Buy

    Lyra's Jordan

  4. 4 Everyone is Special 2:52 Buy

    Everyone is Special

  5. 5 The Golden Compass 1:38 Buy

    The Golden Compass

  6. 6 Where Is Roger? 2:32 Buy

    Where Is Roger?

  7. 7 Readying the Boats 1:53 Buy

    Readying the Boats

  8. 8 Leaving Jordan 3:13 Buy

    Leaving Jordan

  9. 9 Tell Me Where He Is 2:02 Buy

    Tell Me Where He Is

  10. 10 Voyages 3:34 Buy


Disc 2

  1. 1 Gateway to the North 1:35 Buy

    Gateway to the North

  2. 2 You Loved a Witch 3:40 Buy

    You Loved a Witch

  3. 3 Iorek Breaks Loose 2:18 Buy

    Iorek Breaks Loose

  4. 4 Some Sort of Ghost 3:17 Buy

    Some Sort of Ghost

  5. 5 Polar Adventure 2:13 Buy

    Polar Adventure

  6. 6 The Silver Guillotine 3:05 Buy

    The Silver Guillotine

  7. 7 Battle of Bolvangar 3:03 Buy

    Battle of Bolvangar

  8. 8 Parting Ways 2:11 Buy

    Parting Ways

  9. 9 Armored Claws 2:42 Buy

    Armored Claws

  10. 10 Assuming The Mantle 2:15 Buy

    Assuming The Mantle

Show All Tracks 33

Lorne Balfe

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences